Help:Move and Delete Page Tutorial

From Fanlore
Jump to: navigation, search

This tutorial is intended for practicing how to move and delete pages on Fanlore. Only gardeners, members of the Fanlore committee and Advanced Editors can move and delete pages on Fanlore.

Important: New Advanced Editors have to complete this tutorial within two weeks to keep their Advanced Editor rights!

A Policy Note: When to Move and Delete

Moving a page

There are multiple reasons why a page might have to be moved to a new name, from simple typos to factually incorrect or highly ambiguous page names. Generally, page names should follow Fanlore's naming conventions. Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and it often provokes debate. If the move you have in mind is one that might be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note with your reasoning on the talk page.

Deleting a page

The general Fanlore policy is that pages should not be deleted unilaterally. If an editor thinks that a page or subpage should be deleted, they can flag the page with the template {{subst:ProposeDeletion}} and include their argument for why the page should be deleted in the talk page. This will trigger a discussion process among Fanlore staff. For more details, see Fanlore:Mark for Deletion.

An exemption from this policy is the deletion of pages after their contents have been moved to a new page. This will leave a redirect on the old page. If the redirect is not appropriate (e.g. because the old page name was misleading or misspelled), the old page can be deleted. In this case, you want to hunt down the pages that link to the redirect and change their text to link directly to the new title. The "What links here" toolbox feature in the sidebar (bottom left) is useful when doing this.

Tutorial Part 1: Moving a page

  1. Read up on Help:Moving a page.
  2. Move the page Help:Move Test Page to the new name Help:Move Page Here. Also move the associated talk page.
    1. On the top right corner of the Help:Move Test Page, click on the "More" tab and select "Move".
    2. Under "To New Title", select "Help" in the dropdown menu and enter Move Page Here as the new title.
    3. You may enter a move reason (e.g.: advanced editor tutorial) under Reason.
    4. Check the box for "Move associated talk page".
    5. Click "Move page".
  3. Revert the move.
    1. To undo a move, simply move the page back to Help:Move Test Page by repeating steps 2.1 to 2.5.
  4. Delete the page Help:Move Page Here.
    1. On the top right corner of the Help:Move Page Here, click on the "More" tab and select "Delete".
    2. Select "other reason" from the dropdown menu and enter a reason (e.g.: advanced editor tutorial).
    3. Click "delete".

Tutorial Part 2: Deleting a page

  1. Read up on Help:Deleting a page
  2. Delete the page Help:Delete Test Page
    1. On the top right corner of the Help:Delete Test Page, click on the "More" tab and select "Delete"
    2. Select "other reason" from the dropdown menu and enter a reason (e.g.: advanced editor tutorial)
  3. Undo the deletion
    1. Click on the "deletion log" link.
    2. Select "view/restore" for the log entry of the page you just deleted.
    3. In the text field, enter a reason (e.g.: advanced editor tutorial) and click "restore".

That's it! You're done!