Perfect Gentlemen

From Fanlore
Jump to: navigation, search
Zine
Title: Perfect Gentlemen
Publisher: The Nut Hatch
Editor:
Author(s): Jane
Cover Artist(s): Jade
Illustrator(s):
Date(s): 1991
Medium: print
Size:
Genre:
Fandom: The Professionals
Language: English
External Links:
Click here for related articles on Fanlore.

Contents

Perfect Gentlemen is a slash historical AU 230-page Professionals novel by Jane.

title page, Jade
cover

It was later published as original fiction. [1]

Excerpt

""I owe you that debt," Raymond whispered.

"Rubbish." Bodie picked up a towel and began to rub his hair. "If I'm permitted to spend five hundred guineas on a bloody bauble to decorate a woman's neck, then I can spend that sum on freedom for my lover! Liberty is like a diamond, Ray. Wear it like a cloak and treasure it as the gift I give you."

The Flyer

From the flyer:

"This massive and richly illustrated book has been called "a novel of unbelievable depth, intricacy and complexity."

Enter the world of Georgian England, which has been exhaustively researched and brought to live in lush detail; meet, fate to face, the friends and enemies of Nicholas Raymond Doyle and William Bodie Trevellion...

James Rosewarne has one concern: the security and position of his bastard son; but his plans and schemes come to disaster for all concerned.

Paul, Rosewarne's legitimate son and heir has no intention of letting the family fortunes, the park, the stud and the jewellery business slide though his fingers.

The lawyer, Basil Sheppard, is the key to an old man's plan; but had he known the furor it would cause he would have forbidden to sign his name.

Captain Kit Hammond and Patrice Gavroche, the swordmaster, can do nothing to help as a son's fury weaves a deadly web.

Henry Widcombe is a toad, but he knows what he wants, and how to get it. Business is never easy when a man's lusts for youth and beauty lure him to the pits beneath the notorious and dangerous Hellfire Club.

Nicholas Raymond Doyle is a bastard, but a loyal one who has worked his whole adult life in a dangerous profession: a jeweller's courier in the midnight world of highwaymen ...

William Bodie Trevellion should have been a lawyer, but fate and fortune combined to scuttle his chances and assign him to the trade of rogues and scoundrels. He's a highwayman, and a good one! But if he had known what he was getting himself into, perhaps he would have let that particular coach go by.

Andre Brevet holds the secret of a rogue's safety: lover, friend, smuggler, provider of sanctuary.

Bodie's friend, Mick Penhale, is a roughneck, but there is a place for roughnecks when the scene gets ugly; yet who could foresee how ugly it would become --- or the tragedy in store for Penhale?

The year is 1727. The story is timeless: brother against brother, a struggle for love, liberty and wealth, ranging from the heights and depths of London society to the wilds of Dorset and Newmarket Heath. Sudden danger, unexpected intrigue, romance and high adventure make for a wonderful novel from a favorite writer.

First published in December 1991. 270pp, illustrated with around a dozen glorious full-plate monochrome works by Jade (in the pre-digital days when the artist was working on illustratio board, with pencil, ink and an actual, physical airbrush. Curently, this "thick" volume is being done in heavy stock covers, and braid-bound like the omnibus editions."

Summary of Original Fiction Version

From Amazon: "In the spirit of FORTUNES OF WAR comes a rollicking romantic adventure in the world of highwaymen and smugglers. Harry Trevellion would have been gentry if his father's estate had not crumbled; Nick Gray is the favorite but illegitimate son of a rich man, fated to work. His brother, Paul, is a scoundrel waiting only to inherit, and Paul scorns Nick, while Nick performs dangerous work. He's a jewelry courier; it's inevitable that he meet the irresistible rogue, Trevellion. A midnight world opens to Nick: he's drawn into a realm of chanceries, bawdy houses, glittering mansions, and a stormy affair with powerful consequences. The day Paul has awaited arrives: the old master of Rosewarne Park is gone, and his will plunges Nick into jeopardy. It's an age of swords, duels, deceit and sizzling sensuality. Readers who loved FORTUNES and DECEIVERS will relish this novel. "Mel Keegan's name is a byword for thrilling gay adventure in the past, present and future"

References

  1. Dangerous Moonlight by Mel Keegan; from a post at Seeking Pros list makers and readers of Mel Keegan's books; WebCite
Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Fanlore
Browse Categories
Help
Shortcuts for Editors
Toolbox